750 grammes
Tous nos blogs cuisine Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Just a Taste!
28 novembre 2012

Tuesdays with Dorie – Gingerbread Baby Cakes

This week TWD recipe was the Gingerbread Baby Cakes.

Gingerbread Baby Cake (5)

I was very interested by the recipe, I love spices, and I use them regularly in pastry but this time I have to confess, I don’t really like so much the result!!! The taste is too strong, almost knocking out, and too aggressive for me. However, the texture was good, the cakes were moist and soft.

To bake, the recipe was pretty easy, I added some candied orange peels and sprinkled the top with some sliced almonds. I also reduced the quantities and made four cakes in muffin tins, so 25 minutes of baking times.

Gingerbread Baby Cake                    Gingerbread Baby Cake (2)

Probably I will try again, and bring some changes to make this recipe for my taste, therefore don’t worry about my advice, if you enjoy punchy cakes those ones are for you!!!!

Gingerbread Baby Cake (3)

You will find the recipe on the blog of Karen, Karen’s Kitchen Stories. And of course in Dorie’s book “Baking with Julia” p247/248. To see what the other members thought of the Gingerbread Baby Cakes, visit the BWJ website.

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
C
I like the look of the sliced almonds on top. Loved the texture of these but not the flavor. :(
M
I love the almonds on top, great idea. I could not handle the strong taste ;)
K
Very cute baby cakes! I agree with you, the taste was way too strong for us as well.
O
Cool idea to spinkle the punchy cakes with almonds! Sorry to hear that you did not like the recipe that much. I think the fresh ginger really brings a kick.
C
Strong taste but your cakes do look lovely! Please visit my blog and enter my cookbook giveaway. Blessings, Catherine www.praycookblog.com
Just a Taste!
Publicité
Just a Taste!
Archives
Publicité