750 grammes
Tous nos blogs cuisine Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Just a Taste!
20 janvier 2013

Tuesdays with Dorie – The French Apple Tart.

What’s better for a French girl than a classic French dessert??

P1000301

The apple tart is a simple dessert, lovely in all cases, for all occasions. But of course there are lots of different recipes, and each cooker has his own recipe, improved everytime, with tips and secrets to make a perfect dessert, which sometimes are transmitted from generation to generation.

This recipe was easy to make, and quite tasty but I have to say not my favorite. Am I too fussy? Too demanding??

In fact, for my taste, the dough, the apple purée and the topping don’t work perfectly all together, I think it's due to the granny smith apples. They taste a little too sour for the tart, (we don’t feel enough the dough which is really nice), and they don’t cook enough. I love that apples give a result more melting in mouth. Normally I don’t use granny smith, I prefer other varieties more suitable to cooking.

P1000294P1000295

I'll definitely remake this recipe and changing the variety of apples and I'm sure it will become one of my favorites!

P1000306P1000309

You will find the recipe on the blog of Gaye: Laws of the Kitchen. And of course in Dorie’s book “Baking with Julia” p379/381. To see what the other members thought of the French Apple Tart, visit the BWJ website.

 

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
L
Yeah, I think this would have been even better with golden delicious, but we enjoyed it!
C
Looks delicious. I enjoyed the Granny Smith, but after reading your post and everyone elses comments I'm eager to try it out with other types.
C
Very lovely. <br /> <br /> We used "Pink Lady" apples which are a little sweeter -I don't like Granny Smith unless they are mixed with another apple type. I think you are correct that a different apple would make it better.
B
Mel, I too, don't like to use granny smith apples. I use golden delicious for my apple tarts. Your french tart looks great.<br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> Carmen<br /> <br /> http://bakingismyzen.wordpress.com/2013/01/22/twd-baking-with-julia-french-apple-tart/
E
I really like this tart, but I used Gala apples which are sweet, so that could be the difference. Your tart looks fantastic with it's seared edges!
Just a Taste!
Publicité
Just a Taste!
Archives
Publicité