750 grammes
Tous nos blogs cuisine Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Just a Taste!
11 février 2014

Tuesdays With Dorie – Onion Bialys.

Regularly when the weather is cold and/or rainy, I like a good soup. It’s warm, comforting and healthy. Generally, I served it with bread or roll, I change depending on the kind of soup I cook. So the recipe this week: Onion Bialys, was perfect to serve with my meal.

P1020334

The recipe was easy to make, according to my taste, I substitute mince yellow onion in the sponge by a seed mix, and used for the topping caramelized onion instead onion/poppy seeds topping. I also halved the recipe and obtained 6 bialys, I made 3 with onion topping and 3 without, just plain bialys!

Sponge rising                                                          Dough rising

P1020317P1020318    P1020320P1020324 

P1020327  P1020328

However during cooking, I had a slight worry, my bialys mimics volcanoes erupting! No major damage, but the result was a little less beautiful than the picture! This hasn’t affected the taste, as recommended, I toasted them, and it was delicious, soft (more than bagels which are chewier) and the onion topping gives a very nice flavor.

P1020333P1020335

It was a perfect accompaniment with a lovely Manhattan Chowder (for the recipe, it's here, I adapted a bit adding veggies and substituting clams by seafood mix) …...

P1020347

My remaining plain bialys were absolutely delicious too, I toasted them, spread a bit of butter….wonderful!!!!

I‘ll definitely make them again!!!! I am also tempted to give a try for different kind of sandwiches… Anyway: a keeper!!!

You will find the recipe in Dorie’s book “Baking with Julia” p.90/92. To see what the other members thought of the Onion Bialys visit the BWJ website.

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
J
I'm glad you enjoyed these. The chowder looks delicious. Thanks for the recommendation!
A
sounds like the perfect bread for a bowl of chowder!
C
You can't go wrong with caramlized onions! I served these with soup as well. Your chowder looks amazing!
S
I loved these too. I should have made a few plains ones as well. They would make great sandwiches. They look good with your soup (which also looks very good)!! :)
T
Your Onion Bialys look fabulous and so does your Manhattan Chowder - together they are one delicious meal! Caramelized onions as a topping sound wonderful! <br /> <br /> Glad that you enjoyed this recipe as well!<br /> <br /> Je vous souhaite une boinne semaine!
Just a Taste!
Publicité
Just a Taste!
Archives
Publicité