750 grammes
Tous nos blogs cuisine Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Just a Taste!
4 mars 2014

Tuesdays With Dorie – Buttermilk Scones.

P1020428

After the rich and creamy Chocolate-Mascarpone Cheesecake, the Buttermilk Scones were a kind of break, a lovely interlude.

The recipe was really easy and very quick, with just some ingredients, usual equipments, and a sleight of hand!!!

P1020416 - Copie

The result was nice, this recipe is one of the greatest that I have made. The outside of the scone is paper-thin and crisp and opens to an incredibly light, tender, and buttery crumb, maybe a bit buttery. To be 100% perfect, the next time, I will omit the melt butter, I think there is enough in the dough, and it doesn't need more. The result will be a little less buttery; it's just a matter of taste…

I made half in triangular classic way, and half with raisins. It’s the kind of recipe you can play with it. It can be customized with different aromas and flavors (spices, “fleur d’oranger” (orange flower water), maple syrup, chocolate, peanut butter…) Combinations are infinite...

P1020430

The Buttermilk Scones were perfect for a gourmet breakfast (or a nice tea-time), lightly toasted with an orange marmalade. Wonderful!!!

P1020436P1020441

You will find the recipe in Dorie’s book “Baking with Julia” p.210/211. To see what the other members thought of the Buttermilk Scones visit the BWJ website.

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
M
I loved it too!!!
J
I agree, it was so nice to have an easy recipe with no special ingredients. This is definitely one that I'll make again.
C
Well done! Your scones looks fantastic ... even if you wrote to me, that you needed "scone hands", too ;-)
C
Your scones look great. I only used half the amount (if that) of butter on top. I couldn't imagine using all of it. This was an easy and great recipe - open to so many variations!
P
Your scones look great. I agree that the texture is very nice.
Just a Taste!
Publicité
Just a Taste!
Archives
Publicité